Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics was announced today, and it was awarded to two experimental physicists working on quantum computing: Dave Wineland, an American at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Boulder, Colorado, and Serge Haroche at the College de France. Wineland has done groundbreaking work on using trapped atomic ions as quantum bits, and Haroche has done analogous work for using photons, which are quanta of light.

The prize is well-deserved by both physicists, and this is exciting news for them and the entire field of quantum computing!